Research Achievements

Canada’s chiropractic doctors recognize and generously support the CCRF’s development of academic research. This has become one of the most important and successful programs that will benefit the health care. Read detailed reports on Canada’s outstanding researchers and their activities. The British Columbia Chiropractic Association congratulates the following researchers and organizations for their recent accolades and considerable contributions to the world of chiropractic research achievements.

Improving mobility in ankylosing spondylitis patients

Most patients who are given the diagnosis of ankylosing spondylitis have no idea what the disease is all about. Essentially, ankylosing spondylitis is a form of inflammatory arthritis that localizes in the spine. Because it is an auto-immune disease, the body attacks the facet joints between the vertebra, resulting in fusion and the hallmark forward […]

Dr. Marc-André Blanchette awarded CIHR Grant

The British Columbia Chiropractic Association would like to congratulate Dr. Marc-André Blanchette DC, MSc for being the recipient of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) Fellowship Award that will provide $275,000 in funding over 5 years. Dr. Blanchette’s research is centered on the first line of care in work related disease. His study will […]

Dr. Mark Erwin receives 2nd Hansjörg Wyss Foundation Award

Congratulations to Dr. Mark Erwin DC, PhD for his award-winning research in the areas of tissue repair and regenerative medicine applications of intervertebral disc-derived stem cells. As a result of his findings, Dr. Erwin was recognized by AO Spine International, one of the leading academic association in spinal research and received the Hansjörg Wyss Foundation […]

Faculty Start Up Grant awarded to Dr. Steven Passmore

Congratulations to Dr. Steven Passmore DC, MS on his recent award of a new faculty start-up grant, valued at $101,133. The grant is funded in partnership through the Faculty of Medicine, the University of Manitoba, the School of Medical Rehabilitation and the CCRF. As a result of this award, Dr. Passmore will operate a new […]

Dr. Diana De Carvalho receives awards from CIHR and University of Waterloo

Congratulations to University of Waterloo PhD candidate Dr. Diana De Carvalho DC, MSc on the receipt of two awards: The Ontario Graduate Scholarship Award ($15,000) and the University of Waterloo President’s Scholarship Award ($10,000) for 2011/2012 school year. Dr. De Carvalho is currently funded by a “Canadian Institutes for Health Research (CIHR) Doctoral Research Award” […]

Dalhousie Professorship awarded to Dr. Jill Hayden

Congratulations to Dr. Jill Hayden DC, PhD on her awarded professorship at Dalhousie University in Halifax. As of July 1, 2011, Dr. Hayden begins her new role as “CCRF Dalhousie University Professorship in Epidemiology” in the Faculty of Medicine. Currently, Dr. Hayden holds an Assistant Professorship in the Department of Community Health and Epidemiology at […]